Wantable Makeup Box – August 2014 – Review

Hello Lovelies!

I received my Wantable makeup subscription box about a week ago, but I’ve been really swamped with work and various other things going on, so I haven’t had time to post my review yet. I need to step up my game! 

GetConnected

This month, there was a little insert that had information on how to get connected with the Wantable iPhone app. Unfortunately, I have a Samsung, so I can’t participate yet. Hopefully they fix that in the future so that us Android fans can use it too! The flip side of the insert was the same as last month, with the “How to take a picture perfect selfie” guide.

LovesListAugust

As usual, I changed up my Loves List this month. Some stayed the same as previous months, but for the most part, it’s a lot different. I had Fair skin, Highlighters, Blush, Bronzer, Lip Color and Tools on my Loves. Warm tones, Cool tones, Complexion Products on my Likes. And my Dislikes this month were Brows, Eye Shadow, Eyeliner, Lash Product and Nail Polish.

Worth It

Every Wantable box costs $40, or you can subscribe for $36 per month. This month’s box was worth a total of $135.00! I received four items. I received three items from my Loves list and one from my Likes, although I technically think that item could be both a Complexion Product and a Highlighter, but more about that in a bit! I am glad that they switched it up a bit this month. Last month I received three items from Tarina Tarantino, and don’t get me wrong, I adore the products, but I like to try new things! However, it’s the Tarina Tarantino item this month that I think could be both a complexion product and a highlighter…

BoxedUnboxed

My first item this month was the Tarina Tarantino Pearl Glow Primer in Pearl. This retails for $32 and has two different shades available. One is for warm tones and is shimmery gold. I received the shimmery, cool-toned shade called simply Pearl. I really love what this primer does! Not only does it smooth out your skin and make your foundation apply smoothly and evenly, but it adds a light hint of shimmer, so you have a highlight underneath your foundation! (Which is why I think it’s both a complexion product and a highlighter!) I find that it makes any foundation look super dewy and beautiful, but that you can even wear it alone for an ethereal glow. It’s not sparkly, but makes you look lit from within. I tried to capture this as best I could, but I’m not sure how well you’ll be able to see.

Glows(HDR)

It’s just the lightest hint of glow-y radiance, and I’m in love! The photos I’m including at the bottom of the page show me wearing this underneath my usual foundation, and you can see the glow a lot better there! I really haven’t found any problems with the Tarina Tarantino line yet, and I look forward to trying more of her products in the future.

marskaugustMarskAugust2

Next up is an item from a brand I haven’t heard of, but I’m really excited to try out! Marsk Mineral Blush in Cantaloupe is a beautiful, shimmery golden blush. A little bit goes a long way with this, so be careful! It has a sifter lid and is wide enough that you can swirl your blush brush in without spilling all over the sides. This blush is super highly pigmented and very warm. I love it with a hint of bronzer to really give that sunkissed look.

marskaugust3MarskGlowSwatch

I’m already pretty sold on this shade, but I really want to try more of their products now! This is the highest priced item in my box this month, coming in at $42.00 retail. Worrrrth iiiit.

20140729_08363920140729_083708

There’s always a favorite product each month, and this time Ofra’s 3D Roman Mosaic Bronzer takes the freaking cake. Not only is it a two way compact, where you open one half to get to the powder, and one half to get to a killer mirror, but it’s this ridiculous color collage of purples, browns, pinks, greens and tans that mixes into the most incredibly subtle and natural looking contour. It’s matte, which means I’d use it for a contour powder versus using it as a bronzer. It also has a large pan, so I think (hope) it will last a while, but I’ve used it every day since getting it!

marskcantaloupeswatchnoflashaugust

This retails for $38.00 and has just the one shade, but I think it would be quite versatile. I know the swatch looks quite light, but I’ll throw some shots of me in the bottom of the post, wearing the primer, the blush and the bronzer. Just for you guys!

VLBoxAugsutVLBoxAugust2

This is another really exciting product for me this month. I adore Vincent Longo‘s products. The only product I haven’t raved about is their lip stain, and that’s because I hate pretty much all lip stains. Lip stick though, that’s a different story. I received the Vincent Longo Velvet Riche Lipstick in Indie Rose. Baby pinks and nudes are my favorite go-to shades when I don’t feel particularly adventurous, or I’m just doing my regular daily thing. This is a creamy matte pink that’s just bright enough to be noticeable, but not so much that it would look out of place on an otherwise bare face. 

VLLippieCappedAugustVLLippieUncappedAUgust

I’ve had this in my purse for the last week, using it constantly. I’ve enjoyed mixing it with other colors to get awesome combinations. I find this is an excellent base shade, is very moisturizing, and the formulation is extremely forgiving for those days that your lips are chapped and dry. 

From the website:

Contains collagen and hyaluronic acid filling spheres to firm lips and keep them youthful looking.

Essential oils, Vitamin E, and Aloe Vera protect and moisturize lip tissue.

A beeswax base keeps color vibrant and ensures a long lasting wear.

The lotion-like texture clings to the lips and prevents color from bleeding over the lip line.

AugustWantableVLLippie

Retailing for $23.00, this is really affordable and has gorgeous color payoff and pigmentation. I think it could go well with any look you’re doing, and it mixes well with other lip products. It’s also really good for your lips!

AugustShoot8

Marsk Blush/Ofra Bronzer/Tarina Tarantino Primer

Overall, I loved this box. Everything in it is going to be used regularly (it already is!) and it was an amazing value. For $36, I received $135 worth of full sized makeup products! You can see in the photo above how glow-y my skin looks without using a separate highlighter. In the photo below, you can see how the contour is noticeable without being overwhelming. I’m definitely a fan!

I hope this review helped you out! Let me know in the comments what your thoughts are, and what you’d like to see next.

AugustShoot17

I do know that Wantable will be doing an athletics subscription box soon, and I’m really looking forward to trying that as well!

Until next time, beauties!

XoxoxoX

Brenna Bombshell

Give it to me straight.

