Birchbox – May 2014 – Review

Hello lovelies! I’m reviewing the May 2014 Birchbox today!

While I haven’t been particularly happy with my Birchbox selections lately, I had one impressive product this month! The Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream is definitely going on my list of things to purchase a full size of when the sample runs out. However, I am only giving Birchbox one more month to wow me before I end my subscription to them and pick up with another subby box. I’m tired of food samples and shampoo!

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream

Image

This adorably packaged deluxe sample was 22 mL, a surprisingly generous amount. Airy and light, the whipped formula for this shave cream is unlike anything I’ve used before. It’s a very thick cream that doesn’t lather up, but instead coats your legs (or arms or whatevers) with a moisturizing layer of product. I received Acai Grapefruit, which smells fresh and fruity. The scent is very light and does not last after rinsing, but is extremely pleasant in the bath. I’ve found I get a much closer, smoother shave when using this and I will probably be picking up the full size! There are seven scents on the Birchbox website, all going for $20.00 apiece for the full size, 150 mL.

32 Oral Care Effervescent Breath Crystals with IsoVoxy

Image

I’m not a big fan of getting breath mints in a beauty box, but the Honey Mint flavor was very nice. I would not purchase these, however, as I feel they are ridiculously overpiced. The cost is $14.75 for 30 one-use packs.

PIXI Beauty Shea Butter Lip Balm

 20140519_13365920140519_133720-1

I received a full size (4g) tube of this in the shade Coral Crush. While the packaging is too cute and orange is my current obsession, I feel it applies unevenly on my lips and shows off every imperfection, no matter how small. I think it would be excellent though, to wear over an orange or pink lippie to change up the color and add some moisture. This retails for $8.00 and has five shades to choose from.

Gilchrist & Soames Spa Therapy Body Lotion

20140519_133514_Richtone(HDR)

This one bugged me a little bit because I know for a fact this is what is in hotels everywhere, but it smells like the beach, so I’ll deal with it. I received a generous sample of Relaxing Sea Fennel, 1.35 fl oz. A full size bottle is $15.00 for eight ounces. I feel it’s a thin and watery lotion, but is good for days when I need to reapply often or for travel.

Nexxus Color Assure™ Pre-Wash Primer, Vibrancy Retention Shampoo and Conditioner

20140519_133908

These are immediately going into my “for trade/give away” box. I do not use any kind of shampoo or primer in my hair, and I’m very particular about the conditioner I use. The foils are very well done though. A+ for packaging!

Overall, I’m not super excited about this box. I’ll definitely get some use out of the shave cream. The lip balm will most likely get used. The lotion is probably going to sit in a drawer until that day I run out of lotion and frantically run around the house because of course I’m as dry as the Sahara, and then I’ll find this stuff and be glad I have it. I ate the breath crystal pop rock things, and would buy them if they weren’t so expensive. I’m also disliking getting food items in a beauty box. I really wish I could customize Birchbox just a little bit more. I’ve been sent shampoo twice now, which I haven’t used in many years. They also are sending less makeup and more bath and body products. I’m going to give them one more month before making my decision on whether or not to keep them as a subscription box or if I want to move on to another one. What did you get in your May Birchbox? Did you enjoy your products? Get any of the same ones I did? Let me know what you thought and what you’d like to see next!

Give it to me straight.

