Medusa’s Makeup Review and Swatches

Hello beauties!

I recently received a box of goodies from Medusa’s Make-Up, including several of their eye dusts, an eye shadow, a gel liner, a lipstick, a brush set and a makeup bag. Today’s review is going to focus on the eye dusts, shadow and lipstick.

Medusa's Make-Up Logo

Let me start by saying that Medusa’s Makeup is the very first non-drugstore and non-MAC cosmetics company that I ever knew existed. Way back in 2006 or so, when I still only wore a smudge of black eyeliner and the occasional bright red lipstick, I learned of this company somehow or another, and it opened up my eyes to an entire world beyond what I knew to exist. In part, I can thank them for being my entrance into what has become my biggest passion.

Also, on PETA's cruelty-free list. Big bonus!

Also, on PETA’s cruelty-free list. Big bonus!

Back then, I didn’t have a whole lot of access to ordering things online, but I did manage to get my hands on an eye shadow product and I used every speck of it. It was a bright lime green and I was just obsessed. I wore green eye shadow for seriously like, six months straight. Now that I’ve expanded my horizons and wear something new constantly, and am always changing up my looks, I sometimes forget that my roots are in electric shades and vivid neons. I’ve recently been wearing a lot of browns and pinks and other neutral colors, and I realized it was time to go back to basics.

I received eye dusts in the shades Tiger and Big Bird, a Safari collection eye shadow in Desert Rose and one of their lipsticks, in the shade Rio.

Dust and ShadowLippie

The eye dust comes in a small, screw-top jar. You have to be careful in opening, or else you’ll end up with shadow all over your floor. (Whoops.) They really pack it in there, and you get a lot for the price! You receive 1.5 grams for $7.00. You seriously can’t beat that! The lid has the logo and name of the company, and the bottom of the jar has the shade name, weight, website and type of product. Tiger, one of the eye dusts, is a shimmery, electric orange. It’s perfect for adding a pop of color to the corners of your eyes, or for going wild and doing a vibrant, all over lid. In today’s look, I used it under my eyes and in the outer corners. Big Bird is a shocking, vivid yellow. It reminds me of Pikachu, but that might just be because I’m a big dork. I used it all over my lids, meeting with Tiger in the outside corners. I recommend using a primer or a base with these, and to do them before your regular face makeup, because they are prone to heavy fallout. They’re very glittery, so that’s bound to happen! The pigment is extraordinary, showing up even without a base, but exploding with color when you do use one. I used my NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil in Milk today, to show as true of a color as I could get.

Bottoms

Desert Rose from the Safari Eye Shadow collection is a shimmery, dusky pink shadow. The pressed shadows come in a 2 gram flip-top container and run $8.00 apiece.  The lid has the logo and name of the company, and the bottom of the jar has the shade name, weight, website and type of product. I’d say it has about medium pigmentation. Enough that you can go without a base and still have gorgeous payoff, but not so much that it has to be the focal point of any look you do. I used it as my crease color and blended upwards, softening it as it reached my highlight on my brow bone. I really think this is the most versatile shade I received. I could easily use this as an every day shadow, and can see it appealing to a wide range of people. It’s shimmery, but not glittery like the eye dust, and the fallout is far less severe.

Swatches

In the swatch above, I’ve done the shades side by side with no primer and primer. The left side has no base, the right side is using a white base. Tiger is orange, Big Bird is yellow, Desert Rose is pink and the final swatch is the lipstick in the shade Rio.

lips

If you follow me on any other social media websites, you’ll know from most of my recent looks that I’ve been obsessing over orange lippies lately. When I got my email from Medusa’s Make-Up regarding doing a review, I jumped on the chance to try Rio. A dazzling red orange, this lipstick is perfect for summer. It’s very creamy, with a somewhat satin finish. It feels so moisturizing going on. Oh, did I mention that it smells like Starburst candy? Does it get any better than that??? I find that I need to use a clear lip liner with this to avoid feathering, as the creamy formula will bleed if you don’t. However, it lasts a good 4 hours without touch ups, and doesn’t leave you feeling dried out. It’s like a balm and a lipstick in one. I can’t wait to try the other colors! There are currently 8 shades available, and they run $12.00 per lippie. One of my favorite things about this is the packaging. I’m a nerd and a half for great packaging, and this is some of the best I’ve seen. Reminiscent of Anna Sui (without the insane price point), the lid is a carved black rose that is perfect for displaying out on your vanity, and is awesome to pull out around your friends, who are sure to drool over how rad it is! The base has the logo and name of the company, and the bottom has a sticker with the shade name on it. I’m pretty positive that this will be a go-to lippie in my future!

mylips

Verdict – Eye Dust

Packaging: 7/10 – For loose shadows, I really prefer a sifter type lid, that way I don’t have to worry so much about spilling large amounts if I happen to tip it over or if it opens up in my makeup bag. I do like that the jar is clear so you can see the shade you’re using. I also like the labels, and how it shows the product name and website.

Pigmentation: 9/10 – To really get the most out of these, you’re going to want to use a base. I use one no matter what, but even if I were to go without, it would leave a gorgeous splash of color across my lids.

Application: 8/10 – Due to the super glittery nature of these, there’s going to be fallout no matter what. I love the formula though. It’s easy to apply and doesn’t have chunks of fallout, just bits of shimmer. It blends wonderfully, both with other Medusa’s Makeup products or with any shadows that I’ve used with them.

Wear: 10/10 – These last a solid 8 hours on my oily lids without a hint of fade. I ended up washing them off before they showed any sign of wear. A lot of shimmery shadows like these tend to crease and almost dissolve by the end of the day, but not these!

Price and Range: 10/10 – With 48 different amazing shades to choose from, and only costing $7.00 per jar, there’s not much competition! These will last a long time, and I intend on having the full collection eventually!

8.8/10

These long wearing, bright, shimmery shades are amazing. If you’re looking for a new, bold color, I’d highly recommend grabbing a jar or five and trying them out!

Eyes

Verdict: Eye Shadow

Packaging: 10/10 – I love the flip-top containers that the shadows come in! It has a clear top so you can see inside to check out your shade, which really comes in handy when you have a big collection! When I received this in the mail, it came inside of a holographic zebra print box with a circle cut to see the shade. Too cute!

Pigmentation: 8/10 – While not quite as vibrant as the eye dust, this is definitely wearable with or without a primer.

Application: 10/10 – Like a dream! Buttery smooth and with minimal fallout, I loved the application with the shadow. It blends nicely with other products, and doesn’t need constant building up to keep the color rich and true.

Wear: 10/10 – Just like the eye dust, the shadow lasted a solid 8 hours and needed to be washed off before I noticed any signs of fading or wear.

Price and Range: 9/10 – There are 24 shades at $8.00 apiece for the eye shadow. Medusa’s Make-Up is having a sale right now, where you can purchase either set – Electro (bright, shocking shades) or Safari (more muted shadows) for $59 per set of 12 shadows. The only reason I’m knocking a point off here is because I’d love to see some more mattes for blending!

9.4/10

Nearly a perfect score, I think that the shadow would appeal to pretty much anyone. There are a lot of color choices, and they’re a little bit less intimidating than the eye dust. They have adorable packaging and I’ll be back to purchase more in the future!

RightLeft

Verdict: Lipstick

Packaging: 10/10 – As I stated above, I’m a fiend for cute packaging, and it doesn’t get any better than this. I’m dying to collect all of them so I can just arrange them on my makeup desk to show off all the time! It’s a heavy plastic that won’t pop open unexpectedly, and clearly states the logo on the front. Winner!

Pigmentation: 7/10 – I do need a few swipes of color to get the true red orange shade, and I have very light natural lips. I’d love for there to be a bit more intensity, but I think this would be great to layer over other lipsticks for added depth!

Application: 7/10 – Being so creamy, I liked to apply this to the center of my lips, then use a lip brush to bring to the outer corners. It had a tendency to get messy if applied too heavily, and could be streaky if applied too lightly.

Wear: 7/10 – I love the candy scent of this lippie, and it’s very, very moisturizing. It seems almost like a pigmented lip balm more than a lipstick. It lasted a good 4 hours without touching up, but could bleed and feather slightly if I didn’t use a lip liner. It also smudged a bit if I’d bump it, and I did have to reapply after eating.

Price and Range: 8/10 – This easily compares to other high end lipsticks at half the price, which I love. The packaging is so adorable that they could easily bump the price tag, but they continue to deliver quality products at reasonable prices. There are only 8 shades, but they have a wide variety, from purples and oranges to pinks and reds. There’s a little bit of everything, and they’re all super wearable!

7.8/10

I’d definitely buy these and recommend them to anyone looking for a gorgeous, summery color. I think Rio is perfect for the warm weather, and would compliment just about any skin tone. The fruity scent and moisturizing feel is a dream, and I can’t wait to add more to my collection.

Full

Overall, I’m really, really pleased with my haul from Medusa’s Makeup. The products are all high quality, with good packaging and great prices. I had a lot of fun creating my look today, and will definitely be back with more in the future!

I hope you enjoyed reading, and let me know if you end up grabbing anything from them, I’d love to see what looks you create!

20140426_142733-1

20140426_142143

20140426_142710

20140426_142822-1

20140426_145035

*I did receive several products at no cost in exchange for doing a review. However, all thoughts and opinions are 100% honest because screw lying, that’s lame.

4 thoughts on “Medusa’s Makeup Review and Swatches

    • I hope you end up grabbing a few! I think they’re definitely comparable to the UD Electric Palette, and have such a wide variety. I’m dying to pick up Miami, the baby pink lippie they sell. And you can’t go wrong with the prices and specials they always have going on.

  1. I was browsing the Medusa website and see that they have sifter lids sold separately for the eye dusts. Interesting marketing choice, but it is really nice that they provide the option. Perhaps some people really hate sifters?

    • I did see that, and I know you can buy them elsewhere. And it could be! I know I immediately dumped a bit of Tiger on my carpet, and now my cat is orange because his life goal is to roll in as much of my makeup as possible. ^_^

Give it to me straight.

