MUFE Aqua Liner in Diamond Turquoise Blue/ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Dark Brown Look/Mini-Review

Hello Beauties!

MUFE Aqua LinerDipbrow Pomade

Today is a mini-review day. Instead of doing my full out-of-ten review, I’m just going to be discussing my likes and dislikes of two new products that I got in the last few days. The Make Up For Ever Aqua Liner in Diamond Turquoise Blue and the Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade in Dark Brown.

First up, we have the Make Up For Ever Aqua Liner in Diamond Turquoise Blue. 

21w2lsPRoRL

I’ve been dying to grab something that’s bold and bright, since spring is here and I need to stop wearing dark colors all the time! The Aqua Liner retails for $23.00 at Sephora, which may seem steep, but the product is so worth it. Diamond Turquoise Blue is a shimmery, deep turquoise, that reminds me of mermaids and the ocean. And being a Florida girl, I love it! It’s not overly sparkly, and application is very smooth. No skips or watery looking patches when you use it. The formula is very, very heavy though, when it comes to pigmentation. This will stain everything you own if you happen to be unlucky enough to spill or drop any of it. I tried it out last night and used my Holy Grail makeup remover, Boscia Makeup-Breakup Cool Cleansing Oil, and it still left faint traces of blue stain on my lids. This is serious business. When they say Make Up For Ever, they mean For. Ever. This leads into my next point, this is not a forgiving eyeliner. If you have shaky hands, you may want to skip this one, because if you make a mistake, it’s going to stay there unless you cover it with something else or redo everything you’ve already done. It’s not watery, though, so it won’t drip into odd places like some liquid liners. It’s absolutely water (and everything else) proof, so this would be great if you’re going to a theme park, the beach or the pool. 

Without flash.

Without flash.

Swatch with flash.

Swatch with flash.

Above, I’ve swatched the liner both with and without flash, with two coats. It’s already opaque, but two coats makes it very, very deep and brings out the sparkles! Speaking of sparkles, this does not have any fallout that I’ve noticed so far, a huge plus on that, because when I apply glittery things, I want them to be precise and stay where I’ve put them. I’m a big fan of the felt tip it has for application, which makes cat eyes and winged liner a breeze to apply. Overall, for value and performance, this would be a repurchase for me. I’m just itching to try out all the other colors in the line! There are greens, pinks, golds and more.

Now for the Dipbrow Pomade. 

image

I’ve been hearing people rave about this since it came out. From Sephora SAs to MUAs to the gorgeous folks on the beauty forums I frequent, it’s everywhere! Of course, I had to purchase it, being the brow addict that I am. And oh my gosh am I glad that I did. This comes in a fairly large container, and the tiny amount needed for a bold, defined look is sure to make this pot last forever. I took just the smallest, tiniest, eensy weensy bit of product on my angled brow brush, wiped it off in the lid to get excess off, outlined my brows and filled them in all with the same bit that was on it. I didn’t have to re-dip to get more coverage, as it was perfect with one application! I ended up doing a second, cut with a light brown brow powder, just to get a more dimensional look to them instead of being so dark. I can see this easily replacing all my other pencils and powders. It’s water resistant, too! No more missing brows when I hit the waves! It also took a lot less time to apply than my normal brow kit. And for only $18.00, it’s so worth giving it a try. While they only have four or five shades right now, they’re expanding in the fall to include a wider range for all brow shades. I like that it doesn’t smudge if I bump it, and it looks sculpted without being too much. It would be easy to go heavy though. You have to have a very light hand with it, or you’ll come across with Sharpie Brow, and unless you are aiming for that look, it can be shocking to see. Running a spoolie gently across it after applying makes for a more natural appearance. The great thing about this pomade is that unlike powders or pencils, it grabs the hairs and keeps them in place without needing to use a separate wax! I’m in love.

With flash.

With flash.

Without flash.

Without flash.

 

Above I’ve swatched with and without flash, and done a heavy swipe of it to show the true color. You can see above that it’s easy to be very dark with this product. Blending and using tiny amounts, then building it up is key.  It certainly takes some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, it goes by faster and easier than any other products that I’ve used. When (if) I run out of this, I’ll definitely be repurchasing. I’m also thinking of getting it in a shade lighter, to add dimension and depth to my brows at the beginning and end of them. It has a creamy consistency and applies smooth. You do want to have an angled brow brush for this, I’d recommend this one by Anastasia Beverly Hills. It has a spoolie on the other end so you can brush it through your brows for that natural finish.

Overall, I’m very happy with my purchases and will be using them both regularly. Below I’ve posted a look that I did using each item. I hope you enjoy!

C360_2014-03-11-14-54-44-524

Eyes open, photo taken inside in natural light.

C360_2014-03-11-14-53-24-807

Eyes closed, photo taken outside in natural light.

C360_2014-03-11-14-53-06-667

Photo taken inside in natural light.

Products used:

– DermaDoctor DD Cream

– Stila Collage of Color (cheeks) in Roseberry

– UD Naked Skin Ultra Definition Finishing Powder in Light

– Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade in Dark Brown

– Yves Saint Laurent ROUGE PUR COUTURE Vernis À Lèvres Glossy Stain in Naughty Mauve

– MUFE Aqua Liner in Diamond Turquoise Blue

– Rain Cosmetics – Glitterati in Gold Digger on lids

– Smashbox Limitless Eyeliner in Onyx

– Benefit – They’re Real! Mascara

Okay my lovely readers, what would you like to see next? What do you think of these products? Have you tried them out? Love ’em or hate ’em, I want to know! 

9 thoughts on “MUFE Aqua Liner in Diamond Turquoise Blue/ABH Dipbrow Pomade in Dark Brown Look/Mini-Review

  1. Your brows look fabulous! I don’t think I have ever seen any, anywhere look this fantastic!! No Matter how easy you make it out to be I doubt mine would ever look that great, sigh….. But, I will try. I am going to order the things you recommend and see if mine come close to looking as good as yours!

  2. Heyɑ i amm for the first time here. I cɑme across this bօard and I
    find It tгuly useful & it helpeԁ me out much. I hope to give something
    bacxk and help others like you aided me.

Give it to me straight.

