Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss Review

Hello all!

As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m a huge fan of Clinique products. However…I despise lip gloss. Loathe. Abhor. I just never saw a point once I was over the age of 13 to wear it. I can see other girls in it and it’s fine, but on me, I have large lips and tend to look like a greasy fish if I use something glossy or high shine. Also, your hair gets stuck in it. Yuck.

Last November, when I went to visit my family, my mom gave me a tube of Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss, and because I’m such a fan of Clinique (and I also can’t say no to free makeup. ever.), I figured I’d find a use for it somewhere or another. I put it into my makeup box, and there it lay, lonely and forgotten. Shunned in favor of mattes every time. 

Image

 

Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss in Apricot

Now I live in Florida, and it’s usually very humid. I tend to have hair that doesn’t frizz often, calm cuticles, and hydrated lips. Occasionally I’ll swipe on some lip balm if I haven’t been guzzling Gatorade like normal, but on an average day, my lips are plump and smooth. No cracks, no dryness. Well, it’s been super cold lately! Like in the 30s! Which doesn’t seem like much to most people, but here, it’s drying out the air and is making my lips and cuticles die a slow and painful death. 

Last night the boyfriend and I needed to go up to the store. He’s destroyed all his jeans by working at his construction job, and needed a nice pair to wear when we go out. And of course, I wanted an excuse to go to Sephora. There’s ALWAYS an excuse to go to Sephora. I did make a tiny purchase, but more on that in the next post! (It’s Tarte, so you’ll want to read it!) Ahem, I digress. I had on a full face of makeup, and it was just lovely. Except my lips. I tried Chapstick. I tried Carmex. I tried lip balms up and down. My face looked great, but I ended up actually using concealer over my lips and then a nude lipstick over the top, just to try and hide it. Ugh.

Image

Pictured Above: My dying lips, hidden by packing on the lipstick. But on the bright side, my eyebrows are on point.

Well, as I waited for my boyfriend to get ready, I went outside to check the mail, and by the time I came back in, my lips had cracked right through the layers of stick and chap. Desperate at this point, I grabbed the Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss. I removed the other stuff I had on, and applied it over my poor, bare mouth. And then it hit me. I understood why girls love lip gloss. My lips immediately felt soothed, protected and comfortable. After about 15 minutes, the gloss soaked into my lips, making them feel smoother than they have in ages. I reapplied as it wore off, because I usually drink from a straw and I use an e-cigarette, so things tend to need to be reapplied often, it’s no fault of the gloss. 

Upon application, there was absolutely zero scent. Zero taste when I accidentally licked my lips. It wasn’t overly glossy, and after sitting for a few minutes, soaked in nicely. I was able to go out and brave the cold with no additional damage! I was starting to get seriously excited about this revelation. In order to check out the full effect of Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss, I applied a fairly heavy layer before going to sleep. When I woke up this morning, I knew I had to blog this. My lips are nearly perfectly healed! I was seriously about to start globbing on Neosporin if the humidity didn’t come back soon. 

Image

Pictured Above: Still chapped, but coming back to life!

Now, Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss costs $15 on Clinique’s Website. It comes in eight different colors: Apricot, Raspberry, Grapefruit, Root Beer, Lilac, Ginger, Currant and Mango. Mine is in the Apricot shade. Which isn’t really a shade at all. When I used it, there was virtually no color deposit. Thankfully, that’s not why I was using it, but unless you’re looking for a sheer color, I’d stay away from that shade. It comes in a small, plastic tube with a just a hole and a slanted top, instead of any kind of applicator. I used one of my spare doe foot applicators the first time I used it, but then just used my finger every time after that. It has a very thick consistency. The gloss has been allergy tested. 

Verdict

Packaging: 8/10 – I normally despise products that come in tubes. You can’t get everything out of them, and sometimes they’ll split open in your purse and get goo everywhere. But the way the top is, I think I’ll be able to get most of the product out without having to re-pot it. Also, I doubt I’ll use this product in the summer, so the chances of it splitting open are slim.

Look of Product: 9/10 – If I’m going to apply a lip treatment, I don’t need color. You may desire more pigmentation than I do, but I preferred the sheer. It also didn’t look overly heavy on the lips, even though it felt quite thick.

Smell of Product: 10/10 – It doesn’t get any better than this. No scent. None. I love that in a product, especially one on or around my face. 

Texture of Product: 10/10 – While I was initially turned off by how thick the product is, a little bit goes a long way. It doesn’t have a greasy feel to it at all, which is surprising. It applies smoothly and fills in the cracks, making your lips look whole. It’s not sticky or overpowering.

Using Product: 10/10 – Application was smooth, getting the product out wasn’t a problem, you only need a little bit.

After Using Product: 10/10 – My lips felt whole this morning. I don’t have the Sahara in the middle of my face anymore!

Overall Result: 9.5/10 

This has shockingly turned into one of the highest rated products on my blog. I’m really hoping Clinique doesn’t change their formula because I believe once this tube is empty, I’ll be purchasing another for lip care first aid. The price is reasonable, especially for someone like me, who will only be using it during the winter months, or during times of incredible dryness. I can see this lasting longer than the Use By date would suggest. 

What do you think? What’s your favorite gloss and why? What would you like to see next? And as always, thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Clinique Superbalm Moisturizing Gloss Review

Give it to me straight.

