Sally Hansen Miracle Cure Strengthener Mini Review!

Hello lovelies!

Today I’m going to post a mini review on Sally Hansen Miracle Cure Strengthener.

I haven’t been feeling too great lately, I have Crohn’s Disease, which causes me to get extremely sick sometimes. I end up not being able to eat for days at a time, which, as you might expect, causes me to become malnourished. I’ve been sick now for about a month, and my fingernails have suffered drastically.

I haven’t posted anything nail-related in a long time, because my nails had all broken off, and were very short. They wouldn’t grow and were peeling or breaking so easily. They were paper-thin! I was getting really fed up with it, because my amazing boyfriend bought me a FANTASTIC manicure set and a nail art kit for Christmas, and I haven’t been able to do much besides keeping my cuticles tamed.

I needed to fix this.

After reading tons of reviews online, checking out blogs, looking through before/after photos and extensive Googling, I decided to try Sally Hansen Miracle Cure Strengthener. It cost me $9.49 at CVS Pharmacy. The box states “For Severe Problem Nails” and “50% Stronger Nails in 3 Days! Guaranteed! And it states that it stops nails from peeling. Well, these are all the problems that I have.

Full Package: Sally Hansen Miracle Cure

Full Package: Sally Hansen Miracle Cure

The side of the box informs you that it contains no DBP, Toluene or Formaldehyde. When you open the box, the bottle is a lovely, deep shade of blue with a metallic gold lid. The product goes on clear and dries quickly. It does have a bit of a strong odor to it, but it fades after the polish dries. However, you may wish to apply in a well-ventilated area if you’re sensitive to strong smells.

Gorgeous colors!

Gorgeous colors!

I purchased this product on Thursday. The back of the bottle has the instructions “Shake gently. Apply 1 thin coat to bare nails every other day. Use alone or as a base coat.” I did as directed and then allowed my nails to dry. I then reapplied the product last night, on Saturday.

While on the nails, it is extremely glossy, but seems to fill in the grooves in my poor, malnourished nails. I’ve already noticed about a millimeter’s worth of growth on each nail, and they feel much harder than they ever have. My nails are typically very flimsy and brittle, but this seems to have hardened them a LOT. When I have this applied, my nails are completely smooth. This morning I peeled off the polish on my thumbnail to see how the nail underneath looked. And WOW. It appears to have filled in everything! Even without the polish on that nail, it still feels strong and smooth. It looks healthier and the tips of my nails are an even white color, without any of the translucency my nails normally have.

Verdict

Packaging: 8/10 – My biggest issue with Sally Hansen products is the fact that they come in such a large package. It seems like a waste to me. There isn’t anything on the box that couldn’t easily be added to a peel-off label on the bottle instead. However, I like the blue and gold colors of the bottle and it’s something I wouldn’t mind having on my “show off” counter. (Where I leave my prettiest products to be admired.)

Look of Product: 8/10 – I don’t care too much for super glossy anything. I’m a big fan of matte and textured polishes and makeup. 

Smell of Product: 4/10 – Very strong polish odor, but it doesn’t linger after drying.

Texture of Product: 10/10 – Dries quickly and feels smooth.

Using Product: 10/10 – Easy to apply. Has a standard brush with long, smooth bristles. A little bit goes a long way. It isn’t too thick or thin on application, and it was dry not even five minutes after I finished.

After Using Product: 10/10 – My nails are smooth, much harder, and don’t look like they’re peeling or brittle. The tips of my nails are a solid white, and you can’t see through them. The grooves in my nails have been filled out. 

Overall Result:

8.0/10

Sally Hansen Miracle Cure Strengthener is definitely a product I would recommend for brittle, peeling nails. The biggest concerns were the smell and the amount of packaging that isn’t needed. The bottle is very pretty, however. It does a great job on filling in the grooves in your nails, and has made mine feel much healthier.

What do you think? Have you tried this or other products for strengthening your nails? What would you like to see next? And as always, thank you so much for reading!

5 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Miracle Cure Strengthener Mini Review!

  1. I’m using it right now, but there is one thing that I have yet to figure out; how long are we supposed to use this product for? I have another SH product and that says to use for x amount of days.

    • I used it pretty regularly for about six months. Starting every other day, then every third day, then once a week and now I still use it once a week to keep my nails in shape. 🙂 I’m not sure the exact time you’re supposed to use it, but for me, once weekly keeps my nails in “tip” top shape 😉

Give it to me straight.

