Splatter Mani: Hellooooo 80s Inspiration!

So I tried a splatter mani for the first time today, and I’m really happy with the results!

 C360_2013-10-20-14-10-23-065-1

I had to do a tea bag wrap on two of my nails, as they had snagged. If you don’t know how to do one of these, scroll down beneath the pictures of the splatter mani for detailed instructions.

I wrapped two of my nails, my thumb and my ring finger on my left hand, let that dry, and then buffed each of my nails. I have a four sided buffer that is just amazing. Don’t leave home without it! Here’s a link to the one I use. You can get it at Walgreens for about $1.50.

I applied my usual base coat, Sally Hansen Double Duty Base and Top Coat, and allowed it to dry.

On my left hand, I painted my thumb, index, middle and pinky fingernails with Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color in Black Out. I used this color on my right hand, but only on my ring finger. While waiting for this to dry, I applied Wet n’ Wild Wild Shine Nail Color in Lavender Creme. It’s actually a pretty spot-on match for Barbie pink. It’s very bright, and goes on opaque in two coats. It’s very thin, but surprisingly durable. I got it on sale the other day to use with my gradient sunset nails, which I’ve yet to do. Shame on me.

I reapplied the polish to each nail, let dry, and then applied my Double Duty as a top coat. At this point, I thought my nails looked alright, but I decided I wasn’t quite done. I got out my nail polish thinner, OPI Nail Lacquer Thinner, which can be purchased at Ulta for around $9.00. I poured a few drops of the Lavender Creme into a small dish, and then splashed in one tiny drop of the thinner on top of it. Using a separate nail brush, I stirred it together. The thinner you make it, the less opaque it will be on your nails, although it will be much easier to get on.

I then held the brush over each finger and tapped the end of it, making the paint splash down onto my nails. A good thing to do is put Vaseline or tape over the parts of your hands/fingers that you don’t want to have covered in paint. Because I didn’t do this, I spent half a bottle of nail polish remover and about an hour cleaning up my legs, arms and hands. I’m messy. Sue me.

After this, I did the same with the Black Out nail color on the remaining nails.

I then applied another coat of Double Duty and let dry.

Here’s the finished result! What do you think?

C360_2013-10-20-14-10-55-485-1 C360_2013-10-20-14-10-39-744-1

Okay, so to do the tea bag wrap, you need:

– A normal tea bag

– A pair of scissors

– A four sided nail buffer

– A good base coat

Alright, so you remove whatever nail polish is currently on your nail, being careful not to aggravate the break any more than it already is. Take the tea bag, and cut off the top. Remove the guts and possibly make a cup and drink that while you’re working, because yum. Also, waste is bad. Bad, bad waste. Cut a small strip out of the bag, about enough to go halfway down your nail, that will cover the whole surface. Apply your base coat to the nail, and while still wet, position the strip of tea bag across it. Push down, making sure you get any and all bubbles and wrinkles out. It might get a little messy, but that’s okay! Then apply another thin layer of top coat to kind of glue the whole thing down. When the top coat dries, take the fine grain side of your nail buffer and file in one direction all around your nail, so that any excess tea bag comes off.  Apply one more layer of top coat, and let dry completely. Then, following the numbers on your buffer, file all over the surface, so that there is no visible difference between where the tea bag is and where your nail is. Voila! Pain over the top, and your nail is repaired! It will look a little bit different than your natural nails, of course, but it’s nothing a good layer of polish can’t fix. I use this all the time and it saves my life. I work too damn hard for these pretty nails.

6 thoughts on “Splatter Mani: Hellooooo 80s Inspiration!

    • A lot of instructions will tell you to use nail glue, which I’ve found is just a DISASTER. A good base coat does the trick nicely! I think I might do a step-by-step with photographs since I’m getting a lot of feedback on that idea. 🙂 Thank you so much for the compliments!

  1. Pingback: BLACK PAINT SPLATTER NAIL POLISH DUPE FROM Wally WORLD!!!! | Jae the ruler of cosmetics

  2. I’m not ѕure wheгe yoս’re ɡetting yoսr
    info, ƅut gߋod topic. I neеds to spend ѕome time
    learning mucɦ more or understanding moгe. Thanks for fantastic info Ӏ was lookіng foг this
    informatіօn for mү mission.

Give it to me straight.

