Ombre Manicure

So I’ve been cranky all day, and wanted to make myself feel better, so I figured I’d do my nails. Either it would look bad and I’d laugh or it would turn out awesome (lol) and I’d be stoked. My nails never turn out very good, (unless I’m doing wraps) but I still love doing them.

I figured I’d try an ombre manicure. It looks hard as hell, but everyone swears it’s simple. I bought makeup sponges for this last week, but I’ve been feeling intimidated. Also, I’ve tried out a couple different wraps in that time!

So I decided on light blue as a base, with dark blue and black above that. I started with Sally Hansen Double Duty Top/Base Coat. Then I used Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear in Breezy Blue. I applied two coats and let dry completely. I learned a rad way to see if your nails are dry is to lightly touch them to each other. They may feel dry with your finger, but if they’re still tacky when touched together, wait! You may already know that, but I’ve always thought it was useful.

I then painted a thin layer of Layla Magneffect in 07 Metallic Sky onto the makeup sponge in a line. I sponged it off once onto a paper towel, and then lightly tapped it about two-thirds of the way down my fingernail. I repeated this on all of my nails and let them dry completely.

Then I took Sally Hansen Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear in Black Out and did the same thing. I painted a thin line onto a clean part of the makeup sponge, and went down about one-third of the way down my nail. I repeated this on all of my fingers and allowed to dry.

I then used my same Sally Hansen Double Duty Top/Base Coat to seal it.

I cleaned off the excess on the sides of my fingers and checked it out:

Image

Well, I’m kind of stoked. That’s probably the closest I’ve ever come to having my nails look like something I’ve seen someone else do. I think with practice, I’ll get better. It was pretty simple, and I like the way it looks.

Anyways, it did cheer me up. I’m no longer cranky, hooray!

How have your ombre nails turned out? Do you have a preferred sponge type? What’s your favorite color combination? I’d love to hear from you!

Give it to me straight.

